Eklove's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

nothing fresh about this February 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — eklove @ 8:02 pm

So k and I went to a track meet in the western suburbs.
It has been awhile since I’d been to a high school meet.
Anyway meet went well.
Then we go to eat at panera.
When we pay k hands the girl a $5.
She holds it up to the light to examine its authenticity.
Odd I thought maybe a store policy.
K was annoyed and he held the change up to light.
But I watched her, she didn’t check anyone else’s bills.
Then the courtesy busboy passed us by not once but twice. The second time I was deliberately trying to catch his eye as he walked past our table.
No such luck I was invisible.
What are the odds?
The only black people (wait minorities period) in the place get their money checked and get ignored.
How is it possible to balance the extremes?
Hypervigilance and indifference.
Then there was this random man literally glaring at me during his meal.
Maybe I’m connecting dots that aren’t there but if you’ve been there you know what it’s like.
Ahh diversity is good for the soul

 

Leave a Reply

