Eklove's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

new ‘do March 20, 2010

Filed under: follicles — eklove @ 4:54 am
Tags: ,

So I finally went and checked out Salon Heaven www.salonheaven.com . It’s a beautiful spot. A south loop loft salon. There are deep purple walls and exposed bricks. A nice ambiance and stylish accents were also high notes. So my agenda going in was to get a trim and a braid twist combo style. And I came out 2+ hours later with a trim and a flat iron. I am ecstatic about the long over due trim. I truly should have went last month. To me the flat iron is a non style. Basically I wasn’t confident (as was the stylist or so it seemed) about executing what I asked for. So I decided to just head home and planned to do my hair Saturday. So last night I did like 8-10 pin curls and put a little Oyin Burnt Sugar Pomade www.oyinhandmade.com on the ends and then them out this morning. I haven’t had my hair straight for real in about 6 years. It was a bit odd looking at myself in the mirror. K said I looked like a different person. So the pin curls came out great and  I got some body. People went wild at work. I got a lot of your hair looks so pretty and I didn’t know who you were’s. It was random to get so much attention. But the best compliment was “cute hair but your styles are always cute”. This is not new news but many black folks still favor straight hair. But all in all I had a good experience at Salon Heaven. And it seems that other stylists are well versed in natural styling from braids to locs. So I will likely try them again.

 

Leave a Reply

